hidden words of truth

The truth behind hidden meanings uncovered through life's journey.

Working Remotely In Utah

Leave a comment

I love my job.

I love the university I work for: Weber State University in Ogden, UT.

And, I even like working from home.

There are many benefits to working remotely, and COVID-19 has made this a must for many of us who work in Higher Education. There are some habits that can become second nature when your work environment changes like this though, and the most noticeable to one’s self is probably – what are my daily hygiene habits going to be?

Haha, I say this with a smirk on my face as I would bet that every person working from home pushes up against their new norm and decisions about personal hygiene daily. Those who are okay with continuing to take a daily shower and getting dressed fully, if for no other reason than to look decent on camera and stay warm on a cold winter’s day, Kudos. For those who wake up and do the minimal work to start their day – maybe brush their hair, change out of PJs, and decide yes or no to brush their teeth (HAHA) let’s just say, It’s an easy compromise since most you’re talking with over Zoom won’t notice the difference.

I find that less distractions from coworkers talking in the hallway are a plus, but I also miss some of those same conversations that helped my relationships with my coworkers to grow stronger. Some slight bantering and winning sports teams or funky halloween costumes were missed this year. My home office is near a window so I can see the changing weather and be here for packages dropped off on my doorstep. I can get up and make a quick lunch or step away to use the facilities without having to wait out someone else doing the same.

But there is a downside. It can sometimes be a bit lonely.

I don’t mean lonely in that no one ever talk to me or I don’t participate in meetings with others. But there is a feeling isolation when everyone you associate with is also at their home location (or a few working from the office) without much personal touch interaction.

The definition of remote on Dictionary.com states: far apart; far distant in space; or situated some distance away. It can also refer to being secluded.

I think of book writers to seclude themselves in some winter cabin or at a lakeside home with beautiful views working on a book to maintain focus on their story. I don’t think of business people ~ or even Higher Education employees ~ secluding themselves to help students learn subject matter to help them earn a degree.

Remote work is part of what we are doing now, and I don’t see it going away once the pandemic circumstances change/improve. I think this type of work will allow those living in remote locations anywhere to increase their job opportunities and provide businesses with an avenue to recruit top talent. Those are all positives. Utah has a new focus specifically to improve opportunities for workers in the State.

A NEW WORKPLACE: Modernizing Where, How, & When Utah Works

The Deployment Guidebook was released along with two executive orders from Spencer J. Cox, Utah’s 2021 elected Governor, for Utah businesses to embrace about the new approach to remote work. I’m excited to see this unfold and our University embrace this movement as we continue to define how it will work at Weber State University.

Author: hiddenwordsoftruth

Mother of six; IT Professional; Teacher; Analyst; Friend; Family Oriented.

Leave a comment